St. Aloysius' School Governors

This page provides information about the Governing Body of St. Aloysius' Catholic Primary School.

<u>Membership</u>

The Full Governing Body includes 8 foundation governors, 2 elected parent governors, 1 local authority appointed governor, 2 staff governors and the Headteacher. Please see the Governor List below for a list of current governors.

Governors are volunteers. Parent governors are elected by parents, foundation governors appointed by the Diocese in accord with the Parish Priest, staff governors are proposed by staff and appointed by the Headteacher.

Function

"The Governing Body has a strategic role. As agent of accountability, on behalf of the Catholic community and the community of the school, the governing body decides what it wants the school to achieve, in order to secure its mission, and sets the framework for making sure those intentions are realised". (Source: Catholic Archdiocese of Birmingham, Governor Code of Practice*).

The Department for Education has this to say about the role of school governors:

"In all types of schools, governing bodies should have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

- a. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
- b. Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils and the performance management of staff; and
- c. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent." (Source Governors Handbook, January 2015*).

Structure

The Full Governing Body (FGB) of St. Aloysius' Catholic Primary school consists of 14 governors. It operates via an Instrument of Government which is documented here.

Meetings

The FGB normally meets four times a year with an additional fifth meeting to approve the annual budget. The Resources and School Improvement Committees meet 6 times a year. The Performance Management and Pay Committees meet annually and the Admissions and Safeguarding Committees will meet at least three times a year (other committees meet as and when necessary).

The chair, vice-chair, committee chairs and officers are nominated, seconded and elected annually by the FGB during the September FGB meeting. The membership of the committees are reviewed and agreed at the September FGB meeting.

Communication

Dates and times of FGB and committee meetings are advertised via the School Newsletter. The minutes of FGB, Resources and School Improvement Committee meetings are public documents and published minutes are available on request from the school office. Sometimes separate confidential minutes are required e.g., for admissions, admission appeals, staff discipline, staff performance management and personnel where individual staff can be identified from the minutes. Confidential minutes are not available outside of the governing body but the existence of confidential items are listed in the public minutes.

The Governors have a noticeboard in the school (near the entrance). Each year we provide a pupil and a parent questionnaire (based on an Ofsted questionnaire) to gain valuable feedback from our children and parents.

Governors can be contacted via the school office.

Accountability

School governors are responsible for the strategic management of a Voluntary Aided (VA) school. The FGB has corporate responsibility and is held to account by the Board of Trustees of the Archdiocese of Birmingham and the Local Authority (Oxfordshire County Council).

Ofsted measure the effectiveness of governance as part of their scrutiny of Leadership and Management (you can find a link to the Ofsted reports for the school on the School Information page of our website).

All Governors are expected to be a representative of the community from which they are elected or appointed. They are representatives "of" and not representatives "for" that community.

<u>List of Governors of St Aloysius' Catholic Primary School</u>

Parent Governors

- Niamh Power
- James McCullagh Vice Chair

Foundation Governors

- Clare Thomas
- Pauline Broadway Chair
- Geraldine Hazbun
- Pauline Brigham-Brookes
- Claire James
- Fr. Benedict Manning
- Fr. Nicholas Edmonds-Smith

Headteacher

Hannah Tebb

Staff Governor

■ Sophie Kempton

Local Authority Governor

■ Eileen Quigley

Co-Opted Governor

Maureen Thompson

Clerk to the Governors

Jo Clarke

Governor Information - Updated October 2023